32 Nigerians Awarded Ashoka,Mastercard Changemaker Scholar

By IHIDERO Victor Osae, Lagos

​After six weeks of intensive training and deliberation on the Future of Work in Africa, Ashoka in collaboration with Mastercard Foundation on Saturday awarded 32 Nigerian youths African Changemaker Scholar. The award came at the conclusion of the African Changemakers course in a valedictory session in Nigeria themed “Ecosystem Exchange Nigeria: Do Something! Innovate Youth”.

The event which took place at NECA House, Ikeja Lagos State Nigeria had representatives from Ashoka, Ashoka Fellows and Scholars across the country share their innovative experiences in different sectors; agriculture, ICT, education, enterprise development,social innovation and the media.

Speaking at the event, the country’s facilitators, Topsie Olatilewa Egbetokun and Franklin Gabila Neba adviced the recipient scholars to remain committed to bringing about innovative change across different sectors of the economy saying that the narrative about Nigeria is being replaced with meaningful activities of young people. 

While congratulating the recipient scholars, Topsie Egbetokun encouraged them to do more for love of country and humanity saying that “the proof that you have gone through these courses should be seen in the innovation you institute after now. 

“The certificate and sash are only a beginning point for you and for the many innovations that Africa expects from you in your areas of focus be it in agriculture, education, ICT, enterprise development, the media or social innovation. 

“While it is important to innovate, collaboration among young innovators is also important for Nigeria’s development. With this award, Ashoka and Mastercard Foundation as well as the rest of the continent is looking up to you for future of work in Africa, ” she said. 

​The recipient scholars thanked Ashoka and Mastercard Foundation for the recognition award noting that the Changemaker Courses have exposed them to the challenges and opportunities in Africa. 

​The recipient scholars include Stella Ozemoya, Emmanuel Olutokun, Oluwaseun Orjambati, Rasak Adekoya, Moses Alabi, Ibikunle Funso, Temitayo Adegoke,  Belema Ogbuigwe, Oludare Akinlaja, Ihidero Victor Osae, Vicky Udomi, Nafiu Habibu, Henry Akwuebu,Dr Maymuna Kadiri, Benjamin Akinmoyeje and seventeen others. 


... Reporting Development

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *